Mateusz Kowalski Classical Guitar Concert

Polish classical guitarist Mateusz Kowalski performs a live concert at St. Marks Lutheran Church in San Francisco, CA with repertoire by Sokołowski, Chopin, Bach, Szczepanowski, Horecki, Pasieczny. This comes via the Omni Foundation online series and their Youtube channel. Excellent performance by Kowalski filled with wonderful phrasing, rhythmic feel, and interesting articulation. Also an interesting focus on Polish repertoire. I’ll post the second half of the concert when it’s released on YouTube.

Programme for 1st half

  • 0:00 – Intro
  • 1:14 – Diligenza postale by Marek Sokołowski (1818-1883)
  • 6:08 – Mazurkas, op.7 by Fryderyk Chopin (1810-1849) (arr. J. N. Bobrowicz)
  • 15:18 – Schafe können sicher weiden, BWV 208 by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) (arr. K. Mianmi)
  • 22:08 – Introduction and Variations on the National Anthem by Stanisław Szczepanowski (1846-1900)
  • 29:48 – Fantasy, op. 40 by Feliks Horecki (1796-1870)
  • 39:02 – Flight of the Kikuidataki by Marek Pasieczny (b. 1980)

One comment

Ask a Question or Leave a Positive Comment