Stefan Koim Plays Royal Winter Music by Henze


Stefan Koim, GuitarLove Henze’s music. The wonderful young German guitarist Stefan Koim plays “I. Sir Andrew Aguecheeck” from Royal Winter Music (Sonata No.2) by Hans Werner Henze (1926–2012). This work is based on Shakespearean Characters: I. Sir Andrew Aguecheeck; II. Bottom’s dream; III. Mad Lady Macbeth. This comes via the awesome Boston Guitarfest back in 2013 and their great YouTube Channel. The second sonata, written in 1979, continues the Shakespearean theme in three parts. Henze has stated that the work as whole is now complete. The second piece was premiered by Reinbert Evers in the Goethe-Institut, Brussels in 1980. Both works are dedicated by Julian Bream. Also see the 27min version with actors and everything on Koim’s YouTube.

Video Link & Source:


Help Support the Site

This is Classical Guitar is one of the most popular independent classical guitar publications online. I'm dedicated to keeping the website and lessons open and free for everyone. But it’s difficult and expensive work. Corporate and paid sites and platforms are taking over and advertising revenues across the web are falling fast. If you’re a regular reader of the site and you like and value it, please consider supporting the site and help keep my supplies upgraded and its future secure. Visit the Support Page to Help Out.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply